Skip to content

Coho Run 2011

11 September, 2011

50:28, 3rd overall.

I’m pretty happy with my race today. I didn’t really know what to expect – the training volume has been pretty good in the last few weeks, and I actually tapered a bit for this one. On the other hand, I’d been fighting off a cold earlier in the week and it’s a totally new distance and course for me. It was also sunny and on the warm side. For these reasons, and perhaps also for the received wisdom of it, I decided to run entirely by feel today, looking only at my watch at the 4km mark (the time seemed way off, so I left it behind).

Probably having bib #1 made a difference, too. There was a sense of trepidation to start with, as people were looking at me as though they expected me to win, or something. But it was made up for by loads of random people along the way yelling things like “Go on, you’re number one!”, and so on.

I don’t really know how to interpret the time/position, but I’m very pleased with the result of having run entirely by feel, while mostly alone after 1km or so (I caught one other runner around 4km, and another about 2km before the end). My pace probably didn’t tank (I wasn’t caught at all), and I didn’t seem to have much juice left at the end. The sense of accomplishment I have from being able to successfully gauge the internal perception of effort — as well as to trust that perception after having been dictated to by the clock for most of the last five years — is as much as any I had for the personal bests I ran last year.

Definitely this is a race I’d recommend, with a lot of variety – seawall, light trail, hills, bridges and views, and the organization was pretty good overall (free beer instead of coffee is a little quirky, but I agreed with the notion once I found myself with a pint in my hands and some company). A strong turnout from VFAC, including some cheering from the sidelines!

Monday: 10km.

Tuesday: 12km.

Wednesday: hip/core.

Thursday: 12km.

Friday: 12km.

Saturday: 0km.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. David H permalink
    11 September, 2011 4:18 pm

    Right on buddy. Thats a great result and a solid time esp. considering we had to run up Merilee’s trail! but next time we go into the ocean post race for a mini ice bath you have to go waist deep- not to mid thigh! haha.

    David H

    • 11 September, 2011 4:28 pm

      But that water was cold! Maybe l’ll bring my fivefingers too, for the barnacles…

Leave a Reply

