Skip to content

24km

14 November, 2010

I was dreading an unfuelled long run today, and then I remembered the following!

There are two competing aims that we try to reach by completing long runs. On the one hand we stress the muscles by forcing the conversion of glycogen and fat stores to energy for a duration and at a rate to which the body is unaccustomed. On the other hand, the body does not store enough energy to complete a marathon-distance race (without ‘hitting the wall’), therefore we also have to figure out a fuelling strategy. Today, on my long run I decided to see how fast I could take on Powerade, with the aim of drinking a full bottle (710ml) in half an hour. I managed to drink about 600ml between an hour and an hour and a half into my run. I also got a stitch on the downward part of Burrard bridge, but I believe that can be rectified with more thorough core strength training. Even though it wasn’t at race pace, and Powerade is a little more concentrated (energy-wise) than Gatorade, it’s good to know I can take on this amount of fluid if necessary.

 

Friday: 0km (12km bike ride)

Yesterday: 10km easy trails.

Today: 24km (1:45) Quebec/Pender via Science World to 2nd beach around the Seawall, back along Beach/Pacific, across Burrard bridge and east along False Creek, past Science World,  finishing at Quebec/Union.

This week: 58km.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 November, 2010 3:48 pm

    Training on empty is definitively a strategy for learning to cope with those last miles. Good work out there.

    I’m learning to use Gels and even them out with water but I really prefer highly concentrated sports drinks when possible.

    • 21 November, 2010 2:24 pm

      I hear you — the only time I tried gels were during my disastrous first marathon, so they contain negative connotations for me. Wow, running on empty is tough, though!

Leave a Reply

