Skip to content

Clunky

11 November, 2010

I recall now how my arms were aching during leg 8 of H2H! That’s a sign that the musculature of the upper body is perhaps starting to catch up with that of the lower body. Similarly, tonight on the track I didn’t feel exactly fluid. My joints and footfall could have made a metallic clunking sound and I wouldn’t have been very surprised.

 

Officially, tonight’s workout didn’t happen. What with the relay race at the weekend and cross-country earlier in the day, nobody but me and my playlist showed up. Nevertheless, my leg was the shortest and least competitive, really only a tempo and so I didn’t feel as though an honest effort this evening was pushing it too far.

6x800m (2:44, 2:42, 2:37, 2:40, 2:37, 2:36) w/400m recoveries in 2:15.

That said, I struggled to maintain a pace that probably would have been relatively easy in the summer. I’ve quit my pm caffeine two or three weeks ago — it’s not a case of withdrawal so much, but perhaps that jolt was making things artificially easy (as well as increasing the chance of injury, if caffeine truly masks pain signals). Also, I adhered to the recovery time ±1s, whereas it often drifts.

Tuesday: 4km + gym.

Yesterday: 11km.

Today: 9km.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

