Skip to content

Pinetree Classic Cross Country

18 September, 2010

I raced entirely by feel today — I started my watch but didn’t look at it once during the race (no kilometre markers that I could see), nor did I remember to stop it at the end! It was perhaps a bit of a gamble as I haven’t raced this distance for over two years. This is a beautiful course on mostly spongy trails through the woodland of Mundy Park in Coquitlam, with nothing technically tricky and just some minor undulations to keep you honest.

My left shoelace came undone not long after halfway! Although this is something that has happened in training, I wouldn’t say it was something for which I was planning/prepared! Fortunately, my shoe stayed on and my gamble to keep going paid off. For the last two or three kilometres I was trying to decide how close to the finish line I would have to be to keep going with only one shoe, should the other one fall off.

Without knowing the time, it’s hard to say how I feel about how I did — given the competition I finished more or less where I expected. My age-group was not the most competitive so I finished first, but no higher than 7th overall.

AG 30-39 1st: It doesn't happen very often!

What is with race/award announcers getting most names completely wrong? Is this some kind of in-joke that I’m not in on? It’s the second race in a row where this has happened. Luckily for me I have a pretty bog-standard name when it comes to anglophone places, but it still bugs the hell out of me. I think somebody forgot their glasses today, either the announcer or the data entry person/whoever scribbled the list. It’s one of those things that is really easy to get right 95% of the time, and I just have to wonder about people who can’t make the small effort required to recognize. That said, I’ve been told I have pretty bad handwriting, so if this was the cause, you’re all excused.

I think I’m finally over the buggy virus I was fighting — felt like crap from Wednesday to yesterday morning, but a couple of days off did the trick.

Update: Results are in – 28:06, 7th overall, 1st AG.
Wednesday: 9km
Thursday, Friday: 0km
Saturday: 10km total.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 September, 2010 11:15 pm

    Hey there,
    Great run today! It was a first time for me on that course and a while since I’ve done cross country. I enjoyed the course and watching all the other younger racers as well. I ended up third overall. Who do you run with? I am also the vice president of the VFAC. vfac.ca We always welcome anyone to come along for our workouts if they are looking to improve their speed. I’m sure you’re aware who our coach John Hill is. Anyhow, I’ll be sure to keep following your blog. By the way, I know what you mean about the mispronunciation of last names. Jeepers, how hard is it to say McMillan or Palermo?!?!?! Perhaps you’d like to follow along my blog. It’s a blog about running and life. runningtherapist.blogspot.com and if you’re not already part of a team, we’ve got a group at your ability level and a VFAC jersey with your name on it. Happy training.
    David Palermo

    • 19 September, 2010 10:03 am

      Hi David,
      Thanks for stopping by, and for alerting me to your blog, which I didn’t know about. I’ll certainly be reading it, and between the lines, for the secret to being so bloody fast! Though of course, I’m sure it’s mostly down to hard work…I’m running with LGRR for the time being, but I’ll give your suggestion some thought. Congrats on finishing third!
      cheers,
      Tim.

Leave a Reply

