Skip to content

3000m at SFU

13 July, 2010

I have to admit to having been just a little intimidated by all the fast kids running around the track this evening. Included in their number were some young athletes from the New Zealand team on their way to the World Junior Championships in Moncton. I was actually trying not to watch as it was making me nervous in the wrong sort of way, but I’m pretty sure I saw something close to a sub-50s 400m out of the corner of my eye.

On the other hand, my 3000m (the final event of the evening) turned out to be a parade of specimens from the whole range of non-professional runners — the young’un/young gun, me, an older gentleman, and a girl of fourteen. Well, I didn’t get beat by the last two at least. But the young gun, whoa! I went through the first lap in 74s and I was already beginning to lose sight of him. And apparently this was his 5k pace! Oh the shame of being lapped. At least it was only once. And I nearly passed the suffering on to a younger generation lapped the girl.

Of course, 74s was a good deal too fast, and I pulled it back to 4:02 after three laps. I’m happy enough with the final time of 10:06, as it was really more speedwork and time trial than a race per se.

Afterwards, I did a couple of kilometre repeats (3:39, 3:32) with a minute/200m recovery between to cool down.

Today: 6km.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ray permalink
    13 July, 2010 10:32 pm

    Yeah – they sound really fast at that meet, gulp. But sub 3:30/km for the 3km is nothing to shake a stick at. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

