Skip to content

New trails

6 July, 2010

Summer has finally arrived in Vancouver, and the heat has descended like a blanket. Last night my intention was to spectate at the Harry Jerome Classic invitational meet at Swangard stadium. It’s the first time I’ve ever set out to watch others run, so feeling a little sheepish, I dressed as a runner. The thing about dressing as a runner is that I usually don’t carry cash when I run, and therefore, not seeing any friendly/familiar BCA faces had no way to get in! It did not even occur to me that admission might not be free.

Anyway, so I can’t tell you much about what happened. The results are here, if you’re interested. What I did find, however, is one of the better kept secrets, trail-wise, in the Vancouver area. Right next to the stadium is the 5km Terry Fox trail, which forms only one part of many trails through some lovely woodland.

After running this trail, I decided to see what kind of a path I could beat on my way home. Thinking that this might be somewhat akin to the Central Valley Greenway, I tried to follow the skytrain north and west.

Long story short, it’s not the Central Valley Greenway. It’s not unpleasant in places, where some thought has clearly gone into trying to make it pleasant and viable for the traveller, but it is not an uninterrupted, sign-posted trail.

How tragic! I realized that real estate is at a premium in this city, but really, how many extra ounces of vision, of leadership would it have taken to make provision for a continuous footpath all the way from Burnaby to Vancouver, to connect generations of self-propelled Vancouverites with their surrounding neighbourhoods? And this wasn’t fifty years ago when the automobile was the bright, white future, but in the mid-eighties when Jane Jacobs was in her prime! Ok, it’s too late now [/end rant].

Finally, I apologize to those of you who value my purposeful non-endorsement of running companies and products (I know, I know — I practically have to slam the door in the faces of sponsors every day), but here is a shameless plug for my new business (idea). You can’t buy shoes here just yet, but for me to get it off the ground I need to demonstrate interest, which is where you come in. If you can conceive of buying running shoes (particularly lightweight trainers and racing flats, and related products) from an online Canadian retailer at some point in the future, please subscribe to my newsletter which will include details of the forthcoming launch. I promise not to bombard you endlessly with spam!

This morning: on coach’s orders, an early run to avoid heat stress. I was back before eight am!

Yesterday: 7k
Today:7k

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joe. permalink
    7 July, 2010 11:52 am

    Very nice poster Tim!!! I like it.

Leave a Reply

