Skip to content

Cross-country intervals

15 April, 2010

An athletics meet at the high school led to an impromptu trip to the park this evening. It’s not often that I run on unmeasured trails and grass — I like to know the numbers, the pace and so on. Fortunately, one of the Lions Gaters was wearing a Garmin and clocked a circuit of Prince of Wales Park at 710 metres. Five repeats from 2:34 down to 2:23. It seems a little slow for the distance, but there was a bit of a hill and the novel surface makes it more of a workout too.

It actually feels pretty great to run on grass, and the groove worn by generations of football team workouts, so I’m told, does provide a nice challenge to all the stabilizing neuro-musculature (read: stronger ankles, I hope). I didn’t know how fast I was running, so I went by how my training partners were doing and how it felt.

Yesterday: 6 miles.

Today: 5 miles.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

