Skip to content

Dialling down, stepping up

6 April, 2010

Last night, as I shared the track with runners from UBC and a local high school, I remembered why I never enjoyed running middle distance while I was at school. I don’t know if it’s the (~1500m) pace itself, or the repeated change of pace during intervals, but it makes me nauseated. I can still say that I’ve never puked due to running, but I came pretty close.

Anyway, it was a case of more 200m repeats, 16 this time, at a slightly more relaxed pace (38s, 37, 37, 36, 37, 35, 37, 36, 35, 36, 36, 37, 37, 36, 35, 35) than the last couple of weeks. I hope this is fast enough, it felt like it!

I am nursing another strange, new ache. It came on gradually after the end of yesterday’s session, and I’ve been icing it since then. I’m hoping it’s just a bruise, which is what it feels like, and I suppose a bruise on the sole of the foot shouldn’t be a surprising injury for a runner. My first thought, given its position was Morton’s Neuroma (not quite as bad as it sounds), but it is too early to start worrying/kicking myself.

Yesterday: 7 miles total. Today: 0 miles (cycling this evening).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ray permalink
    6 April, 2010 7:03 pm

    I have Morton’s Neuroma and I hope you don’t get it. It was caused for me by dropped pads and left a shooting pain sensation on that 4th metatarsal pad… ugh. It took a pair of orthotics to fix it all up!

Leave a Reply

