Skip to content

Elixir IV all the way

4 April, 2010
tags:

For the first time, yesterday, I completed my long run wearing the Mizuno Wave Elixir IVs. I started off wearing them just for track sessions back in November and have gradually introduced them for all other workouts since then. It was relatively short as far as long runs go, but still this is good news. I’ve had no more soreness than usual, although as I stopped at a water fountain I did notice perhaps slightly more stiffness in the lower back. This is probably due to there being less cushioning in these shoes than in the Inspires (which I’ve been wearing for long runs until now), but I think that this will not be an issue. The perceived wisdom around shoes currently seems to be that less shoe equals greater (requirement for) musculature from the lower legs through the core, and I’m banking on the gradual transition and increased training load of late to compensate accordingly.

Yesterday: 12.5 miles. Today: 5 recovery miles. This week: 30 miles.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

