Skip to content

Crossroads

29 March, 2010
tags:

I’m making an exception to my rule of not putting food on this blog. Isn’t this a beautiful mess?
That, my friends, is a poutine. Sweet-potato ‘fries’ (baked in olive oil), covered in cheese curds and gravy. Vive la Montréal! Generic lactase tablets be praised!

I’m at a crossroads in my training. I feel as though I’ve been riding the wave of overtraining, without quite wiping out. Of course, overtraining can be a grey area until you faceplant, and I’m familiar enough with my body now that I can see it coming. Last night, as I lay in bed, I had a new sensation: a pronounced and constant ache in the bones of my lower legs. What is new, what have I changed? The volume is unexceptional, the speedwork is terra incognito. Not only that, but perhaps repeated 5k racing puts quite a strain on the uninitiated, especially when I think about how fast I finished on Saturday. It could also be that I’m just more of an endurance creature, and I have to allow for more recovery at this distance than some.

Is this bone strain, or am I being hypochondriacal? It just so happens that my non-running life at the moment allows me to train hard, but it would be totally in keeping with the patterns of previous efforts for this to develop into something worse, such as a stress fracture. That is the very last thing that I want to happen, so I’m going to take a couple of days off, maybe do some cycling and core work. It’s mildly frustrating, but I’m more interested in long-term progression than risk incurring chronic injuries again.

Saturday: 5 miles
Sunday: 11.5 miles
Last week: 34.5 miles
Today: nought.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

