Skip to content

A jolt

25 March, 2010

“A day without training is like a day without eating.” – Haile Gebreselassie.

Some days just don’t get going until the run has been done. I felt flat and heavy all day long, and when I started running my legs started complaining like nobody’s business. Based on this, I took the bus only a short distance and ran about 5km to the track this evening (about 6km on the way back), where I put in a token effort 400m, followed by a good long rest and then 800m. Just enough to wake me up a little. The pace was about that of a 17:00 5k, which is my pie-in-the-sky, probably-shouldn’t-say-aloud goal for Saturday.

Some of the people I train with seem to have no problem doing at least two speed sessions per week, if not more, with back-to-back if not back-to-back-to-back efforts on weekday evenings. If I tried this I would probably end up on my back for about a week. Is this because I’m thirty-something, not twenty-something? Or is it because I’ve been running for less than four years, not ten? Only the progression of seasons will reveal the answer.

Certainly the short, faster efforts such as Tuesdays seem to take more out of me than longer interval sessions, so presumably the training effect (given adequate recovery) is also greater at this point.

Yesterday: 4 miles.
Today: 7 miles.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ray permalink
    25 March, 2010 9:10 pm

    Hi Tim,

    What 5k is coming up this weekend?

  2. 26 March, 2010 8:42 am

    And then there’s this guy who races 50k on Sundays and comes back for more within the week. Ray, you’re an animal! It’s the Dave Reed 5k in Stanley Park, which is also this year’s provincial championships for the distance…there should be some fast runners to chase.

  3. Ray permalink
    26 March, 2010 9:03 am

    Ah right, I see it now. I always forget racedaytiming does some races on the mainland. That’s a speedy race. See if you can beat our 2nd best LGRR performer Jim Swadling from last year – 17:56! And if you are really frisky, take our top performer Mark Francis at 17:13! 🙂 Good luck.

Leave a Reply

