Skip to content

Strange new ache

23 December, 2009

I embrace aches and pains. If you’re not hurting somewhere, then you’re probably not going anywhere with your training. It’s perfectly normal to have little hotspots here and there that come and go — your body has to break down a little in order to get stronger. In an ideal scenario, these hotspots last a couple of days and move on to another part of the body. Sometimes they last a little longer, perhaps a week, and that’s when it’s time to take a step back and figure out what’s happening, what the root cause could be.

As long as I stretch the soleus and gastrocnemius muscles and keep the toenails trimmed, I rarely have problems with my feet. They seem to be a particularly well-designed/adapted part of the anatomy, and I’m lucky to have reasonably good biomechanics, though I overpronate a little on one side. However, I do have a new hotspot on the foot, specifically around the left 1st MTP joint (aka known as left launchpad, starboard side, for those who prefer to think of their feet as spacecraft), which is unusual, and I’ve been aware of it for a couple of days. It’s nothing to worry about just yet, but I’m watching it closely. When you consider what we ask of them, feet are really spectacular pieces of design/engineering, and they deserve our respect and fine treatment. That’s why this afternoon I’m treating myself to a foot massage, and I’m going to ask the masseuse to go deep!

broken reflection of feet in water

©Tim K Adkins


Today: six miles, yesterday: six miles.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

