Skip to content

Time trial: 4000m on the track

17 December, 2009

Well, I was expecting a 5000m time trial, but it turned out to be 4000m. A funny creature the 4000m (no I didn’t collapse, it was the coach’s idea) although it does make more sense than the 5k, at least on the track, seeing as it’s an exact number of laps. My pacing was a little off, but not massively so. The first mile was a little faster than the second, but I picked it up, and overall I believe the split was fairly even, within about 5 seconds. The time was 14:16. It’s a little hard to know how to interpret the result. On the face of it the time doesn’t represent an improvement. Certainly I felt in good form, and I took yesterday off so my legs were fairly fresh. Having said that, it wasn’t a race and there wasn’t a great deal of competition. In fact I’m not too sure if anyone else finished under 15. So, not having done a time trial on the track before, it is a little hard to say what it means, and I’m not going to pay it much heed.

Afterward I hung out with LGRR for a while. It’s good to be part of a club, to interact with people, other runners, whose eyes don’t glaze over when you talk running! Also, it seems there are some speedsters there, and I look forward to some friendly rivalry.

Yesterday I had nothing to say. Today, I ran my little heart out, and then I talked a little running: I have even less to say, I’m beat.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ray Barrett permalink
    18 December, 2009 9:41 am

    Welcome, Tim. Nice run last night. I ran 15 mins exactly but certainly no competition for you. John came late and was more your pace but by then he couldn’t catch you 🙂

    Wait until Sparky and Chris make it back to the track in the New Year, then you’ll have someone to play with.

    Did you go to the gathering afterwards? I couldn’t find Roger’s place and my damn phone wasn’t picking up his address email. Aarrgh.

    Ray.

    • 18 December, 2009 12:57 pm

      Thanks, Ray, I think we’ve got a great year of running ahead of us. Are you signed up for any races?

      • Ray Barrett permalink
        18 December, 2009 6:33 pm

        Sure, I usually run around 20 a year around here. So far I’m signed up for Chuckanut 50km and the Boston Marathon. You?

        Ray.

  2. 18 December, 2009 7:22 pm

    So you’re an ultrarunner! I’m going to focus on 5-10k until June, maybe I’ll do the scotiabank half if not the bmo. Then in the fall…well, we’ll see. Not quite to commit to another marathon, just yet, but maybe just maybe New York.

Leave a Reply

