Skip to content

A step in the right direction

16 December, 2009

I don’t have a great deal to say today, so here’s a picture of some new running shoes.

The new Asics Gel Noosa Tri

They’re not mine, and I’m not totally convinced I’d want them to be. But running shoes are usually so boring to look at, I hope that other manufacturers follow suit. They should all be colourful, but in totally different ways. Is this too much to ask? Each manufacturer has its own last, its own ‘fit’, why not have a distinctive designer? Must they all act like sheep when it comes to such an inconsequential feature (for a runner) as the design of the upper? Let’s face it, runners are not exactly known for setting fashion trends, and I could definitely forgive my preferred brand if they hired a completely insane designer, because, at the end of the day, their shoes are the ones that work for my feet and that’s why I’m wearing them. We probably look silly running anyway, even (or especially) those dressed top to toe in under-armour sleekness. Here’s another one that broke the mould.

Black AND orange? I almost wish Nike fit my feet


Having met a friend for coffee after lunch, I very much wanted to go for a run this afternoon. There was a certain quality to the evening, no precipitation and a clear horizon to the west as the sun set. But no, tomorrow is supposed to be a 5k time trial and I’ve managed to stick with the plan and simulate race conditions, and that means no running the day before.

This blog seems to be doing its job, by helping me to follow through with stated plans, by reminding me of the path I’ve set for myself. I still have no idea how many runners, if any, actually read this regularly. Therefore, I always write with an idea that I’m addressing a younger version of myself, a guy who has made fewer mistakes, and who has the opportunity still to make or avoid them and therefore the opportunity to learn something — in the same way that that by reading the blogs of faster runners, by looking for the do s and the don’ts, I can become a faster runner myself. By the same token, quite apart from the fact that I’d be losing face to ranked hordes of jeering runners (as the case may be), I can’t let him down by saying I will be doing one thing one week and then doing something completely different, unless circumstance makes some critical intervention, which of course it does often enough.

Well, that’s enough for today. Motion creates emotion, to quote an otherwise entirely forgettable film, and it’s true enough that usually I have no idea what I’m going to blog about until I’ve at least started to run. Without that, this is what you get!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe permalink
    17 December, 2009 9:15 pm

    I read this almost everyday : ) I like it.

Leave a Reply

