Skip to content

Easy around the cemetery

14 December, 2009

I don’t think there has been one day of rain, that I can recall, since I started this blog. Today, however, there was more snow. I had been silently hoping (against hope, given the last two or three years) that there would be a minimal amount of snow this year. It’s not the first time I’ve run in the stuff, but I did have a particularly bad experience at the end of October, running on Dog Mountain. It’s the smallest mountain there is, but it has some particularly tough trails, especially when they’re covered in wet snow. I wiped out a couple of times, once on a rock that winded me and left me with an intercostal bruise that made breathing tender for three weeks afterward, and I nearly twisted my ankle several times. One of the people I went with is getting a CT this week for an injury sustained during that insane workout.

For snow on sidewalk, though, it’s not all bad news. For one thing, as I recently learned, concrete sidewalks are probably just too hard for high volume training, and snow makes it a little softer. Secondly, snow is like sand in that it provides an opportunity to practice a fast transition in the stance phase of the running gait, a fast foot turnover. Just as long as you don’t try to accelerate, or stop, too fast and keep an eye out for curbstones etc. then it’s not particularly dangerous, I believe.

I’m under attack by a virus of some kind or cold. I’ve won the battle again today, but didn’t want to overdo it, so just an easy 4.5 miles around the cemetery and back.

rain city runner does a body curl on a pullup bar

post-run body curls (3x5)

After getting back I did 3 sets of 5 body curls. No, that’s nothing to do with my lovely hair. I’m talking about the kind you do on a chin-up bar (left). They’re mainly for the abdominals. I usually do bicycle crunches, but quite frankly bicycle crunches make me want to puke, so body curls are more likely to be part of my routine this winter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

