Skip to content

About the name

28 November, 2009

Okay, I know I’m going to hear from Americans that Seattle is rain city, not Vancouver. But. Let me just say that we have a whole bunch of organizations named Rain City up here in BC, none of which I’m affiliated with. Also, even though Vancouver doesn’t even get a mention on the wikipedia entry on rain, we actually get more annual rainfall, on average, than our southern sister city. However Seattle is bigger, so I grant the aggregate sogginess there may exceed ours. If I ever move there I will change the name to Soggy City Sprinter, or perhaps Saunterer, depending on when that might happen. Finally, if you’re running in Mobile, Alabama (the wettest city in the contiguous states), or an even wetter place in Alaska, then I just say wow. I’m in awe of you.

Enough weather talk!

And by the way, if you’re planning to visit Vancouver in 2010, please take a moment to visit my running tour website. Consider seeing Vancouver from a two-legged point-of-view, the  least impactful way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

